Nigeria Centre for Disease Control on Wednesday confirmed 12 new cases of coronavirus.

“Twelve new cases of #COVID19 have been reported in Nigeria; 9 in Osun, 2 in Edo and 1 in Ekiti State,” NCDC tweeted.

“As at 12:30 pm 1st April there are 151 confirmed cases of #COVID19 reported in Nigeria. Nine have been discharged with two deaths.”

Of the 151 confirmed cases, Lagos state has 82, FCT has 28, and Osun State has 14.

Oyo has eight cases, Ogun and Edo have four cases each, Kaduna has three, while Edo, Enugu, Ekiti and Bauchi states have two cases each.

Rivers and Benue states have recorded one case each.


Ekiti index case was discharged earlier on Tuesday afternoon. The country have coronavirus deaths. Both patients, NCDC said, have underlying medical conditions.

Lagos State and Abuja have been shut down since Monday night, a move by the Nigerian government to stop the spread of the dreaded virus. Both cities have recorded the number of the virus.

Some other states have also some form of measures to as well curb the spread.

So far, three state governors and President Muhammadu Buhari Chief of State Abba Kyari are among the people infected by the virus.